Raninagar Assembly Elections 2016

The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Raninagar is concerned, the seat will witness bipolar contest between the Left Front and the Congress. If the Congress does not enter into an alliance with Trinamool Congress, the Left Front has an edge. The BJP is not competitive force in Raninagar. In the last assembly polls in 2011, the Congress was on a weak wicket and will have to encounter a strong opposition from the Forward Block which was allotted the seat.

Raninagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Firoza Begam INC Won
Dr. Humayun Kabir AITC 62750
Basu Basak BJP 9693
Golam Mostafa Mondal WPI 2441
None of the Above None of the Above 1715
Manirul Islam SUCI(C) 1405
Md. Yearul Islam IND 946

It was a all-woman show at Raninagar in 2011. Firoza Begam is the sitting Congress MLA of Raninagar which he won by defeating Maksuda Begum of Forward Block by just 1089 votes in 2011. While 76092 votes were received by Firoza Begam, the Forward Block candidate received 75003 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dinesh Mondal who got only 3151 votes.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Murshidabad Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Raninagar is composed of Raninagar-1 block, Dhulauri gram panchayat of Domkal block and Kalinagar I, Kalinagar II, Malibari I, Malibari II and Raninagar I gram panchayats of Raninagar-2 block.

Raninagar, one of the twenty two assembly segments located in the Murshidabad district, had an electorate of 186600 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 96674 were male voters and 89926 were female voters. Raninagar assembly constituency came in its second incarnation before the 2011 assembly elections.

No News Found