Ranaghat Uttar Purba Assembly Elections 2016

A triangular fight between among the TMC, Left Front and BJP is on the cards for the coming assembly election to Ranaghat Uttar Purba. Traditionally a bastion of the CPM, the constituency has become a stronghold of the TMC since its win in 2011. The BJP has become a competitive force. The Congress is not a force to reckon with in Ranaghat Uttar Purba constituency.

Ranaghat Uttar Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samir Kumar Poddar AITC Won
Babusona Sarkar CPM 78243
Nikhil Ranjan Sarkar BJP 15467
Pradip Kumar Sarkar BSP 2301
None of the Above None of the Above 1645
Jagadish Mondal SUCI(C) 1496
Debadrita Biswas NDPI 1311

Samir Kumar Poddar is the sitting TMC MLA from Ranaghat Uttar Purba which he won in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Archana Biswas by a handsome margin of 31192 votes. In that election, while 93836 votes were polled by Samir Kumar Poddar, the CPM nominee received 62644 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Basudeb Majumdar who secured 6243 votes.

One of the seven assembly segments in the Ranaghat parliamentary constituency in West Bengal, Ranaghat Uttar Purba is formed by Aranghata, Dutta Fulia, Bahirgachhi, Jugalkishore, Kamalpur Raghunathpur Hijuli II and gram panchayats of Ranaghat-2 block, and Bagula I, Bagula II, Ramnagar Bara Chupria I, Mamjoan and Ramnagar Bara Chupria II gram panchayats of Hanskhali block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Ranaghat Uttar Purba is one of the seventeen assembly constituencies in the Nadia district of West Bengal. This rural constituency had an electorate of 201195 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 105673 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females whose number stood at 95522.

No News Found