Rampurhat Assembly Elections 2016

Though CPM was able to win the newly created assembly constituency of Rampurhat in 2011, the party’s vote share has fallen and its organizational network is no longer robust. On the other hand TMC doesn’t have the luxury of Congress votes as was the case in 2011 when the party was in alliance with the latter. BJP has some pockets of influence.

Rampurhat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asish Banerjee AITC Won
Syed Siraj Jimmi INC 64236
Dudh Kumar Mondal BJP 25480
Rabindranath Soren IND 7705
None of the Above None of the Above 4052
Md Hannan AIFB 3613
Tarak Let BSP 1650
Ashis Kumar Pal MPI 1530
M A Zaman SP 1012
Md Mursalim SUCI(C) 884

Rampurhat is currently represented in the Legislative Assembly by CPIM whose legislator Dhiren Bagdi won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Parikhit Bala of Trinamool Congress by a margin of 4318 votes. In that only election to the seat, while 77512 votes were polled in favour of Dhiren Bagdi, the TMC candidate received 73194 and was followed by BJP’s Shibnath Saha who got 8,786 votes.

Earlier Dhiren Bagdi was elected from the erstwhile Mahammad Bazar assembly constituency in 2006.

One of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal, Rampurhat is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Birbhum parliamentary constituency. Rampurhat, came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission.

In 2011, 190105 people were eligible to cast their votes in the Rampurhat assembly constituency. Of them, 99198 were male voters and 90907 were women.

The Rampurhat municipality and the Suri–II block are included in the Rampurhat assembly constituency, which also contains the gram panchayats of Banagram, Deriapur, Horisara, Fulur, Hatora and Mathpalsa of Rampurhat block and Angargaria, Charicha, Bhutura, Mahammad Bazar, Deucha and Puranagram under the Mahammad Bazar block.

No News Found