Raipur Assembly Elections 2016

Though Raipur is currently held by CPM, the TMC candidate from Bankura Lok Sabha constituency had led from this assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Though the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections will witness direct fight between CPM and TMC, the BJP is also a competitive force with the potential of eating into the votes of the other parties. Congress though reduced to a non-entity in Raipur, can harm the prospects of the TMC if the party enters into an alliance with the Left Front. In such case chances of Left front appears to be bright.

Raipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Birendra Nath Tudu AITC Won
Dilip Kumar Hansda CPM 63119
Shudhanshu Hansda BJP 14332
None of the Above None of the Above 3215
Chunaram Saren JMM 2769
Dulal Saren IND 1740
Kandan Mandi CPI(ML)R 1552
Kalipada Hembram BMP 754

Raipur is presently held by CPM whose candidate Upen Kisku won the seat ninth time in a row in 2011 by defeating TMC candidate Pramila Murmu by a razor thin margin of 182 votes in a bipolar contest. While Upen Kisku polled 69008 votes, 68826 votes were polled in favour of TMC nominee who was distantly followed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Kshetra Mohan Hansda who got just 7,176 votes. Pelaram Murmu, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was relegated to the fourth place with just 3,770 votes.

Earlier, Upen Kisku has been all the elections to Raipur seat since 1977.

Raipur is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Raipur and Sarenga. One of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Bankura Lok Sabha seat, Raipur had a total electorate of 178332 in 2011. Of them, 91801 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 86531.

No News Found