Raidighi Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Trinamool Congress had led from the Raidighi assembly constituency by just 3741 votes. The party had won the seat in 2011 by only 5,553 votes. Though TMC enjoys the edge, the CPM is also expected to give a befitting reply. Former Left front minister and CPM heavyweight Kanti Ganguly has once again nominated by his party to contest the upcoming election to Raidighi.

Raidighi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Debasree Roy AITC Won
Kanti Ganguly CPM 99932
Sanghamitra Chaudhuri BJP 7703
Gunasindhu Haldar SUCI(C) 4527
None of the Above None of the Above 1710
Rajendra Naskar BSP 916
Purnendu Shekhar Mondal IND 789
Amiya Gangopadhyay IND 373
Arun Kumar Gayen IND 338
Prasanta Mondal LJP 191

Famous Bengali film actress Debashree Roy is the sitting TMC MLA of Raidighi which she won by defeating his nearest CPM rival and then Sunderbans development minister Kanti Ganguly in 2011. In that election, while Debashree Roy received 93236 votes, Kanti Ganguly got 87683 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dwijendranath Halder who got just 3,369 votes.

Kanti Ganguly was elected from the erstwhile Mathurapur assembly constituency in 2001 and 2006.

Mathurapur – 2 blocks is covered by Raidighi assembly constituency which also contains Abad Bhagawanpur, Krishnachandrapur, Debipur, Lalpur, Nalua and Shankarpur gram panchayats of Mathurapur- 1 block.

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Raidighi assembly constituency is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Mathurapur which is reserved for the candidiates belonging to scheduled castes. Patharpratima, Kakdwip, Sagar, Kulpi, Mandirbazar and Magrahat Paschim are the other six assembly constituencies within Mathurapur Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Raidighi, which came into existence before 2011 in place of Mathurapur, the constituency had a total electorate of 207140. Of them, 108213 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 98927.

No News Found