Purbasthali Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections Purbasthali Uttar assembly constituency given the BJP Burdwan East candidate Santosh Roy a lead over his rivals due to Modi wave. What goes against the party is that it has not been able to maintain its lead and does not have a strong organization in the constituency compared to Trinamool Congress. Though CPM was once a dominating factor, its support bases is in a state of decline.

Purbasthali Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pradip Kumar Saha CPM Won
Tapan Chatterjee AITC 81721
Swapan Bhattacharya BJP 22410
Jyotsna Goldar BSP 2193
Nota Nota 1534
Ansarul Aman Mondal (Babu) CPI(ML)(L) 1516
Binod Bihari Debnath SP(I) 997

Tapan Chatterjee is the sitting TMC MLA of Purbasthali South which he won in the only election to the seat held in 2011. In that election, he had narrowly defeated his nearest rival Pradip Saha of the CPM by 2140 votes. In that election while 71107 votes were polled by Tapan Chatterjee, the CPM candidate secured 68967 votes and was followed by BJP’s 68,967 who got impressive 17,222 votes. Compared to other assembly constituencies in West Bengal, Purbasthali Uttra always has a presence of BJP

One of twenty-five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Purbasthali Uttar is formed by the areas covered by Purbasthali 2 block, Jahannagar and Dogachia gram panchayats of Purbasthali – 1 block, and Mamudpur II, Bamunpara and Putsuri gram panchayats of Manteswar block.

Purbasthali Uttar is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Bardhaman Purba Lok Sabha constituency. Purbasthali Dakshin came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

A total number of 189373 electors were eligible to exercise their franchise in 2011 assembly election to Purbasthali Uttar. Of them, males and females numbered at 100465 and 88908 respectively.

No News Found