Pingla Assembly Elections 2016

A bastion of Prabodh Chandra Sinha, leader of the Democratic Socialist Party (Prabodh Chandra), Pingla is all set to witness close contest between Trinamool Congress and DSP (P), a constituent of the Left front in West Bengal. Despite the wave of change in 2011, Prabodh Chandra Sinha managed to win the Pingla seat.

Pingla Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Saumen Kumar Mahapatra AITC Won
Prabodh Chandra Sinha DCP(PC) 80198
Antara Bhattacharyya BJP 16665
Ranjit Bankura SUCI(C) 2388
Nota Nota 2118
Kartik Chandra Dolai IND 1474

Currently Pingla is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by Prabodh Chandra Sinha who won the seat by defeating his nearest TMC rival Ajit Maity by a narrow margin of 1234 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011. While Prabodh Chandra Sinha polled 84738 votes, the TMC nominee secured 83504 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Sambhunath Hansda who got just 7,641 votes.

Earlier Prabodh Chandra Sinha has won the Egra seat six times in a row from 1977. In 2006 he was defeated by Sisir Kumar Adhikari who resigned from the Egra seat in 2009 after his election to the Lok Sabha. In the bye-poll Samares Das had defeated Prabodh Chandra SInha.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Pingla is constituted by areas covered by Dhaneswarpur, Jamna, Gobordhanpur, Karkai, Kshirai, Pindurui and Kusumda gram panchayats of Pingla block as well as Kharagpur- 2 block. Pingla is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Ghatal. Sabang, Panskura Paschim, Debra, Daspur , Ghatal and Keshpur are other six assembly constituencies within the Ghatal Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Pingla, 194839 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 100754 were male voters and 94085 were women.

No News Found