Panskura Purba Assembly Elections 2016

The CPM which is in a state of decline after its crushing defeat in 2011 has become vulnerable in Panskura Purba assembly constituency. However, factionalism in the Trinamool Congress is also a cause of worry for TMC. It would be a bipolar fight between TMC and CPM in the coming assembly election to Panskura Purba where TMC has an edge. BJP has no role to play except in participating in the election process.

Panskura Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sk Ibrahim Ali CPM Won
Biplab Roy Chowdhury AITC 80567
Aparna Laskar BJP 10041
Narayan Nayak SUCI(C) 2572
Amiya Kumar Sahoo BNP 2181
Nota Nota 1864

Panskura Purba is currently represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by its sitting MLA Biplab Roy Chowdhury who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating the then sitting CPM legislator Amiya Kumar Sahoo by a convincing margin of 13167 votes. In that election, Biplab Roy Chowdhury, who has been again nominated for 2016 election, polled 82957 votes, Amiya Kumar Sahoo secured 69790 votes and was followed by BJP’s Deb Kumar Maity who managed to get only 3,971 votes.

Earlier Biplab Roy Chowdhury was elected from the Panskura Purba assembly seat in 1996 and 2001. He lost to Amiya Kumar Sahoo in 2006.

Panskura Purba is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal. The constituency is formed by areas covered by Panskura -2 block.

Panskura Purba is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Panskura Purba, there was a total electorate of 186105. Out of the total electors, 98553 were males and 87552 were females.

No News Found