Panskura Paschim Assembly Elections 2016

Nandigram police firing proved to be Achilles’ heel for the Left Front in West Bengal where it ruled for uninterrupted 34 years. It was not without reason that the Trinamool Congress won all the sixteen seats in the Purba Medinipur. Panskura Paschim is no different. It would be a bipolar fight between TMC and CPM in the coming assembly election to Panskura Paschim, while the BJP will play as catch up, the congress has been reduced to insignificant player.

Panskura Paschim Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Phiroja Bibi AITC Won
Chittaranjan Dasthakur CPI 89282
Narayan Kinkar Mishra BJP 19403
Nota Nota 2125
Tarun Samanta BNP 1524
Nisith Kumar Maiti IND 1104
Sk. Abdul Masud SUCI(C) 1007
Saphiruddin Khan IND 942
Sk Mafijul Rahaman PDS 717
Sulalit Mallick AMB 635

Panskura Paschim is currently lying vacant due the death of its sitting MLA Dr. Omar Ali in September 2015. He was elected from the seat in 2011 from the seat on the ticket of the TMC which he switched to before the assembly elections.

In that election while Omar Ali, who was irrigation minister in the Left Front government, received 93349 votes, 84209 votes were polled in favour his nearest CPI rival Nirmal Kumar Bera who was followed by BJP’s Narayan Kinkar Mishra who got 5,994 votes.

Earlier Panskura Paschim had elected Omar Ali six times in a row from 1971.

As said earlier, Panskura Paschim is located in the Purba Medinipur district. It is formed by areas covered by the block of Panskura -1 block.

Panskura Paschim is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Tamluk parliamentary constituency currently represented by Suvendu Adhikari of TMC.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Panskura Paschim, there was a total electorate of 211663. Out of the total electors, 111153 were males and 100510 were females.

No News Found