Pandua Assembly Elections 2016

Despite the wave of change in 2011, CPM managed to win the Pandua assembly seat, albeit by a razor thin margin. Out of the eighteen seats, it was the only one; the party had won in the Hooghly district. The CPM has a good presence in this assembly constituency. The contest in the coming assembly elections in 2016 is likely to be mainly between TMC and the CPM. BJP does not have much of a presence in the constituency.

Pandua Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sk. Amjad Hossain CPM Won
Saiyad Rahim Nabi AITC 90097
Ashok Bhattacharya BJP 17081
Nota Nota 2731
Sk. Amjad Hossain IND 2477
Abdul Goni Sarkar PDS 1947
Lakshminarayan Bauldas BSP 1852
Niranjan Bag CPI(ML)(L) 1759

Currently Pandua is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by CPM’s Amzad Hossain who had defeated his nearest TMC rival Nargis Begum by a margin of just 397 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011. In that election, while Amzad Hossain polled 84,830 votes, the TMC nominee secured 84433 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Debaprasad Chakraborty who got 5,297 votes.

CPM candidates have been winning the Pandua assembly seat since 1977. Its legislator Sekh Majed Ali represented the seat from 1996 to 2011.

Muslim dominated Pandua Assembly constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency. Earlier the constituency was included in the Katwa Lok Sabha constituency.

Located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal, Pandua assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the block of Pandua.

In 2011 assembly election to Pandua, there was a total electorate of 207334, out of which 105884 were male voters and 101450 were female voters.

No News Found