Panchla Assembly Elections 2016

BJP had secured 28,145 votes in Panchla assembly constituency in 2014 parliamentary elections, a steep rise from 7,523 which the party received in 2011 assembly polls. However thanks to the division of votes between CPM and BJP, Trinamool Congress is poised to sail through in the constituency. In 2011, the TMC- Congress decimated the Left by wining all the sixteen assembly constituencies in the Howrah district in which Panchla is located.

Panchla Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gulsan Mullick AITC Won
Doli Roy AIFB 69199
Bhabani Prasad Ray BJP 16066
Nota Nota 1852
Shyamal Mondal IND 1018
Ahmed Hossain Middya IUL 891
Utpal Kundu Chowdhury IND 716

Gulshan Mallick is the sitting Trinamool Congress MLA of Panchla assembly seat which he wrested from the Forward Block by defeating its sitting MLA by 12118 votes in 2011. While Gulsan Mallick, who had also emerged victorious in 1996 as a Congress candidate, polled 76628 votes, Doli Roy secured 64510 votes and was followed by independent candidate Mohitlal Ghanti who got 14487 votes. BJP nominee was relegated to the fourth place with 7523 votes.

In 1996 Gulsan Mallick had defeated Forward Block’s Sailen Mondal who was elected in 1987, 1991 and 2001.

Panchla, which mainly comprises of rural population, is inhabited by large number of zari workers. Panchla contains in its domain the block of Panchla as well as Islampur, Gobindapur, Polegustia and Laskarpur gram panchayats of Jagatballavpur block. It is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the parliamentary constituency of Howrah currently represented by Prasun Banerjee of TMC.

There were 206662 electors in Panchla assembly constituency in 2011 polls. Out of them 108944 were males and 97718 were female voters.

No News Found