Onda Assembly Elections 2016

It would not be a cakewalk for either of the two –Trnamool Congress and the Left. However, TMC may find itself in a better position if the trends in the Lok Sabha polls in 2014 are anything to go by. It is, however, pertinent to note that elections are not about only arithmetic. An alliance with the Congress, as is being speculated, may stand the Left in good stead. The BJP can only hope for holding on to the vote share which the party got in 2014 riding the Modi wave.

Onda Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arup Kumar Khan AITC Won
Manik Mukherjee AIFB 69755
Amarnath Shakha BJP 27417
Ashoke Chattopadhyay IND 6158
Sadhan Chattaraj BSP 5015
Nota Nota 4489
Sabiruddin Bhuina SUCI(C) 3042
Baidyanath China CPI(ML)(L) 1539

Onda is presently held by Trinamool Congress whose candidate Arup Kumar Khan emerged victorious from in 2011 by defeating the then sitting Forward Bloc MLA Tarapada Chakrabarti by a close margin of 596 votes in a bipolar contest. While 75699 votes were polled by Arup Kumar Khan, Tarapada Chakrabarti received 75103 votes and was followed by BJP’s Amar Nath Sakha who secured only 10,056 votes.

Earlier Tarapada Chakrabarti had won the seat in 2006 and a bye-election in 2002. The bye-election was necessitated due to the death of former Deputy Speaker of West Bengal Assembly Anil Mukherjee who had been winning the Onda seat since 1977.

Kosthia, Bikna, Sanbandha and Narrah gram panchayats of Bankura -2 block and Onda block combine to form the assembly constituency of Onda. One of the twelve assembly segments located in the Bankura district of West Bengal, Onda forms part of Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency.

Of a total number of 199552 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Onda, there were 104078 male voters and 95474 female votes.

No News Found