Natabari Assembly Elections 2016

After its win in 2011, Trinamool Congress (TMC) has been able to consolidate its place in the Natabari assembly constituency. The CPIM, on the other hand, has lost ground due to switching of its supporters to TMC. The BJP, which has received just 5.76 votes in 2011 in this assembly constituency, is on the way of becoming a competitive force if taken into account the numbers of votes secured by it in the 2014 parliamentary election to Cooch Behar of which Natabari is a part

Natabari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rabindra Nath Ghosh AITC Won
Tamser Ali CPM 77100
Ali Hossain BJP 21524
Tapan Barman KPP(U) 3204
Babla Deb AMB 1678
Nota Nota 1573
Rabia Sarkar SUCI(C) 1261

Rabindra Nath Ghosh is the sitting TMC MLA of Natabari which was won by him in the last assembly election in 2011 by defeating the then sitting CPIM legislator Tamser Ali by 7565 votes. Earlier Rabindra Nath Ghosh had lost to Tamser Ali in 2001 and 2006. In 1996 Rabindra Nath Ghosh, who is also the TMC district president of Cooch Behar, entered the fray as a Congress candidate and was defeated by Sibendra Narayan Chowdhuri of CPIM who had represented the seat from 1977 at a stretch.

One of the nine assembly constituencies in the Cooch Behar district of West Bengal, Natabari forms part of the Cooch Behar parliamentary seat, this assembly constituency is composed of Andaran Fulbari II, Deocharai, Dhalpal II, Balarampur I, Balarampur II, Chilkhana I, Chilkhana II, Natabari I, Natabari II and Maruganj,gram panchayats of Tufanganj- 1 block, and Dauaguri, Deoanhat, Guriahati I, Guriahati II, Panisala and Jiranpur gram panchayats of Cooch Behar -1 block.

According to the data released by the Election Commission of India in 2014, Natabari has a total of 2, 12,305 electors eligible to cast their votes to elect their representatives from the seat. Of them, 1, 10,644 are male voters and 1, 01,660 were women voters.

No News Found