Narayangarh Assembly Elections 2016

It is too close to make a call. Currently held by the leader of the opposition, Narayangarh is all set to be a keenly contested assembly seat in the forthcoming assembly elections in 2016. As is the case with many assembly constituencies in the West Medinipur district in West Bengal, the BJP is not a competitive force in Narayangarh. The Congress has reduced to non-entity.

Narayangarh Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Prodyut Kumar Ghosh AITC Won
Surjya kanta Mishra CPM 85722
Krishna Prasad Roy BJP 10262
Surya Pradhan SUCI(C) 3984
Nota Nota 1786

Narayangarh assembly seat is currently held by the CPM’s Surjya Kanta Mishra who won it for consecutive fifth time by defeating TMC’s Surja Kanta Atta by a simple margin of 7109 votes in 2011 in a bipolar contest. In that election Surjya Kanta Mishra, who is now the leader of the opposition in state assembly, polled 89804 votes, the TMC nominee secured 82695 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Krishna Prasad Roy who secured 5,345 votes.

Surjya Kanta Mishra, who was the health minister in the Left Front government, has also been elected from the Narayangarh assembly constituency in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006. The constituency has been electing CPM candidates since 1977.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Narayangarh is formed by areas covered by Narayangarh block.

Narayangarh is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Medinipur. Kharagpur Sadar, Medinipur. Egra, Dantan, Keshiary, Kharagpur and Medinipur are other six assembly constituencies within the Medinipur Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Narayangarh, 191752 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 97798 were male voters and 93954 were women.

No News Found