Naoda Assembly Elections 2016

The forthcoming assembly election to Naoda in 2016 is all set to witness a direct contest between Congress and RSP. Though the Left Front is consistently losing ground since its crushing defeat in 2011, the RSP should be in an advantageous position. Its fortunes may rise if both the Congress and the Trinamool Congress decide to go to the polls alone. Being a Muslim majority constituency the BJP does not stand a chance in Naoda constituency.

Naoda Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abu Taher Khan INC Won
Masud Karim AITC 43377
Abdul Bari Molla RSP 43013
Sajal Bhaumik BJP 25874
Nota Nota 3830
Abutaleb Hossain SDPI 1676
Helalul Islam Khandakar SUCI(C) 789
Khurshid Alam Malitya IND 558

Naoda is currently held by the sitting Congress MLA Abu Taher Khan who had won the seat for the third consecutive term in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and former Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) MLA Jayanta Kumar Biswas by a comfortable margin of 13795 votes in a direct fight. RSP is one of the constituents of the Left Front of which CPIM is a major partner. Whereas Abu Taher Khan polled votes 80758, Jayanta Kumar Biswas, who had earlier claimed the seat four times, received 66963 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Biplab Mondal who finished a distant third with only 3,774 votes. TMC did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress.

One of the seven assembly segments falling under Bahrampur Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Naoda is composed of Naoda block and Chaitannapur I, Chaitannapur II, Madda and Mahula II gram panchayats of Beldanga -1 block.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district, Naoda had a total number of 183948 electors who were eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly poll to the seat. Of them, 95875 were male voters and 88073 female voters.

No News Found