Nanoor Assembly Elections 2016

Prone to political violence Nanoor was once a citadel of the left. However, after its defeat in 2011, the party is in a state of decline. Trinamool Congress has on the other hand has been able to expand its organization in subsequent years. But currently TMC is plagued by internal factionalism in Nanoor. If the party does not show semblance of unity, it will mar the chances of the party in the forthcoming assembly elections.

Nanoor Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shyamali Pradhan CPM Won
Gadadhar Hazra AITC 78644
Tarakeswar Saha BJP 18502
Nota Nota 4342
Sebashish Bagdi IND 2602

Nanoor assembly seat is currently held by TMC’s Gadadhar Hazra who wrested the seat from CPM in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Shyamali Pradhan by 5863 votes in a direct contest. While 91818 votes were received by Gadadhar Hazra, the CPM candidate got 85955 votes and was remotely followed by BJP’s Rajkumar Fulmali who received just 8,811 votes.

In 2006 Gadadhar Hazra lost to Joydeb Hazra of CPM by a massive margin of 31365 votes. Joydeb Hazra was denied party ticket in 2011.

Earlier CPM had been winning the seat since 1977.

One of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal, Nanoor is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Bolpur parliamentary constituency. Nanoor assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Nanoor block and Kankalitala, Bahiri Panchshowa, Kasba, Sian Muluk, Sarpalehana Albandha and Singhee gram panchayats of Bolpur Sriniketan block.

In 2011, 218317 people were eligible to cast their votes in the Nanoor assembly constituency. Of them, 112312 were male voters and 106005 were women.

No News Found