Nandigram Assembly Elections 2016

The authority of Trinamool Congress remains unquestioned in Nandigram assembly constituency where violence during the period preceding the 2011 assembly elections led to the ouster of the Left from power after its uninterrupted rule of 34 years. In 2014 Tamluk TMC MP Subhendu Adhikari had secured a whipping lead of 87,283 votes from the Nandigram assembly constituency. However, the popularity of the sitting TMC MLA Feroza Bibi is in a state of decline. TMC has also declared that sitting TMC MP from Tamluk Lok Sabha, Subhendu Adhikari, would be the party’s candidate for the forthcoming assembly polls.

Nandigram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adhikari Suvendu AITC Won
Abdul Kabir Sekh CPI 53393
Bijan Kumar Das BJP 10713
Nota Nota 1278
Bappaditya Nayak SUCI(C) 828
Ram Mohan Maity BNP 717

Feroza Bibi whose son was among the 14 killed in the police firing in Nandigram in 2007, is the sitting MLA of Nandigram which she wrested from the Communist Party of India (CPI) by defeating her nearest rival Paramananda Bharati of CPI by 43640 votes in 2011. In that election, while 103,300 votes were polled by Feroza Bibi, the CPI nominee received 59660 votes and was followed by BJP candidate Bijan Das who got only 5,813 votes.

Earlier Nandigram had been represented by CPI for most of the period after independence.

The rural constituency of Nandigram is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Nandigram -1 and Nandigram -2. The constituency is one of the sixteen assembly seats located in the Purba Medinipur of West Bengal.

Nandigram is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Tamluk parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Nandigram, there was a total electorate of 195232. Out of the total electors, 101104 were males and 94128 were females.

No News Found