Nandakumar Assembly Elections 2016

The forthcoming 2016 assembly election to Nandakumar seat is between the Trinamool Congress and the Left, with the former having an upper hand. Though BJP has enhanced its vote share in recent times, it does not have the potential of upsetting the status quo or denting the prospects of either of the two main contending parties. The Congress has been reduced to an insignificant entity in Nandakumar assembly constituency

Nandakumar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sukumar De AITC Won
Siraj Khan IND 87683
Adhikary Nilanjan BJP 10668
Nota Nota 2099
Marphat Ali Khan IND 1872
Praksh Chandra Bera SP 1698
Mirja Rabiul Islam WPI 798
Md. Sahalam Molla LJP 793
Saumitra Pattanayak SUCI(C) 696

Nandakumar assembly seat is currently held by its sitting MLA Sukumar Dey who won the seat on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating his nearest Samajwadi Party rival Brahmamoy Nanda by a margin of 11867 votes. In that election, Sukumar Dey polled 89717 votes, the SP candidate received votes was distantly followed by BJP’s Nilanjan Adhikari who managed to secure only 5,152 votes.

Earlier Brahmamoy Nanda had been elected from the erstwhile Narghat assembly constituency in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

In 2011, Samajwadi Party, a constituent of the Left Front in West Bengal, had won the Bhagabangola seat whose sitting MLA Chand Mohammad had joined the TMC.

Nandakumar is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal. The constituency is formed by areas covered by Nandakumar block and Padumpur I, Bishnubarh I and Padumpur II gram panchayats of Tamluk block.

Nandakumar is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the Jurisdiction of the Tamluk parliamentary constituency. Nandakumar came into being before 2011 in place of erstwhile Narghat assembly constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Nandakumar, there was a total electorate of 192197. Out of the total electors, 100882 were males and 91315 were females.

No News Found