Nagrakata Assembly Elections 2016

Nagrakata is one of 23 assembly segments in which the BJP had secured lead in 2014 Lok Sabha elections in west Bengal. However the party lacks the organization prowess of the TMC which is trying to bring sitting Congress MLA from Nagrakata into its fold to make its presence forcefully felt in the constituency. In the upcoming 2016 assembly polls, Nagrakata will witness keen contest among the mainstream parties.

Nagrakata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sukra Munda AITC Won
Joseph Munda INC 54078
John Barla BJP 47836
Nota Nota 6196
Ganesh Lama ABGL 3855
Indar Deo Oraon IND 3829
Pawan Kumar Kherwar IND 3442

Joseph Munda is the sitting Congress MLA from Nagrakata which he won in 2011 by defeating the sitting CPI (M) MLA Sukhmoith Oraon by a narrow of 763 votes in a triangular contest. In that election, while 46537 votes were polled by Joseph Munda, Sukhmoith Oraon received 45774 votes and was followed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s William Minj who got 40664 votes.

The CPM has been winning Mal since 1971. Chaitan Munda of CPM was elected from the seat four times in a row (1987, 1991, 1996 and 2001). Background Located in the Dooars region of Jalpaiguri district, Nagrakata assembly constituency is composed of blocks of Nagrakata and Matiali, and Chamurchi and Banarhat II gram panchayats of Dhupguri block. In the last assembly election to this tribal dominated constituency in 2011, there were 183655 electors out of whom 93151 were men and 90504 were female voters. Nagrakata is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Alipurduars Lok Sabha constituency. Those belonging to scheduled tribes are eligible to contest the Mal assembly seat.

No News Found