Nabagram Assembly Elections 2016

A keen contest between Congress and Left Front is on cards in the upcoming 2016 assembly election to Nabagram. Congress led by Adhir Chowdhury, Congress MP from Behrampur and current West Bengal Congress president, is a dominant force in Nabagram assembly constituency. TMC, being the ruling party in the state, has also gained ground.

Nabagram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Kanai Chandra Mondal CPM Won
Dilip Saha AITC 61102
Susanta Marjit BJP 13084
Nota Nota 3227
Radha Madhab Mandal SP 2372
Amit Mehena WPI 1232
Barun Mandal SUCI(C) 1143

Nabagram is currently held by the CPM whose candidate Kanai Chandra Mondal won it for the second time in 2011 by defeating his nearest Congress rival Prabal Sarkar by 7556 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 78,703 votes were polled in favour of Kanai Chandra Mondal, Prabal Sarkar received 71,147 votes and was followed BJP‘s Dilip Halder who got 4,489 votes. Earlier though Adhir Chowdhury contested the seat in 1991, he emerged victorious from the seat in 1996. The CPM has been winning all the elections since 1977 baring 1996.

One of the twenty two assembly segments located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal, Nabagram is composed of Nabagram block, and Radharghat I, Radharghat II, Niyallishpara Goaljan and Sahajadpur gram panchayats of Berhampore block.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Jagipur Lok Sabha constituency, Nabagram had an electorate of 183391 in the last assembly election to the seat in 2011. Out of the total eligible voters, 95136 were males and 88255 were females.

Only candidates belonging to the scheduled castes are eligible to contest the Nabagram seat which was an open seat before 2011.

No News Found