Nabadwip Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress may have the edge in Nabadwip assembly constituency, the party is facing stiff resistance both from CPM and the BJP. Nabadwip municipality, a part of the constituency, was won by TMC in 2015. The Congress is in miserable situation. The problem with BJP is that it does not have a robust organizational strength in West Bengal

Nabadwip Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pundarikakshya Saha AITC Won
Sumit Biswas CPM 66432
Gautam Pal BJP 17537
Brajamohan Chakraborty SHS 2890
Nota Nota 2139
Utpala Biswas BSP 1914
Parikshit Paul CPI(ML)(L) 1632

Nabadwip is currently held by sitting Trinamool Congress MLA Pundarikaksha Saha who won the seat third time in a row in 2011 by defeating CPM’s Sumit Biswas by a handsome margin of 22835 votes in a bipolar contest. While 94117 votes were polled in favour of Pundarikaksha Saha, the CPM candidate got 71282 votes and was followed by BJP’s Pinki Agarwal who got 7,303 votes.

Earlier Pundarikaksha Saha had been elected from the seat in 2001 ad 2006. From 1977 to 2001, Nabadwip remained in control of the CPM. While the party’s legislator, Debi Prosad Basu, emerged victorious from the seat in 1977 and 1982, Biswanath Mitra of CPM represented from 1987 to 2001.

One of the seventeen assembly constituencies located in the Nadia district of west Bengal, Nabadwip covers Nabadwip municipality, Nabadwip block, and Joania and Bhaluka gram panchayats of Krishnanagar-1 block.

Nabadwip is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Krishnanagar. Nakashipara, Tehatta, Palashipara, Kaliganj, Chapra and Krishnanagar Uttar are other six assembly constituencies comprising the Krishnanagar parliamentary constituency.

In the assembly election to Nabadwip in 2011, the constituency had a total of 200147 electors. Of them, 103954 were males and 96193 were female voters.

No News Found