Murshidabad Assembly Elections 2016

A stronghold of Adhir Chowdhury, Congress MP from Behrampur and current president of the West Bengal Congress, Murshidabad is all set for a triangular fight between among the Congress, Left Front and Trinamool Congress in the coming 2016 assembly elections in the state. As things stand today, the Congress has an edge over other political parties. As is the case with most assembly constituencies in the Murshidabad district, the BJP does not have a remote chance in Murshidabad.

Murshidabad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shaoni Singha Roy INC Won
Ashim Krishna Bhatta AITC 69440
Gouri Sankar Ghosh BJP 24031
Bivas Chakraborty AIFB 5066
Nota Nota 2966
Milia Sajem SUCI(C) 1669
Sumit Das IND 1190
Dhananjay Banerjee BSP 1028
Md Mosaraf Hossain LJP 603
Md Jalaluddin Mondal IND 578

Shaoni Singha Roy is the sitting Congress MLA of Murshidabad which she won by defeating sitting Forward Bloc MLA Bibhas Chakraborty by 6352 votes in 2011. While 75,441 votes were polled by Shaoni Singha Roy, Bibhas Chakraborty received 69089 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ranajit Kumar Das who got 9,946 votes.

Earlier Bivas Chakraborty was elected from Murshidabad in 2006 when he defeated Joyanta Roy of IPFB.

Located in the district of the same name in West Bengal, Murshidabad assembly constituency is composed of Murshidabad municipality, Jiaganj Azimganj municipality and Murshidabad Jiaganj block. While the Murshidabad municipality was won by Congress in 2015, the Left front managed to win Jiaganj Azimganj municipality.

Murshidabad is one of the seven assembly segments that comprise the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Bhagwangola, Raninagar, Hariharpara, Domkal, Jalangi and Karimpur are the other six.

Murshidabad assembly constituency had an electorate of 188558 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 98695 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females whose number stood at 89863.

No News Found