Memari Assembly Elections 2016

In 2014 parliamentary elections, Memari assembly segment had given the BJP candidate for Burdwan East a lead of 2,500 votes over his nearest Trinamool candidate. This was a remarkable performance by the BJP as its share in 2011 assembly poll to Memari was just 1.70 percent. However, in 2015 TMC was successful in winning the Memari Municipality which is a part of the assembly constituency.

Memari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Begum Nargis AITC Won
Debashis Ghosh CPM 85523
Bhismadeb Bhattacharya BJP 15231
Srabanti Majumder IND 2344
Dinesh Sikdar BSP 2325
Nota Nota 2287
Budo Murmu JDP 1558

Memari is currently represented by Abul Hasem Mondal of the TMC. He had wrested the seat from the CPM by trouncing its nominee Debashis Ghosh by a simple margin of 3178 votes in bipolar fight in 2011. In that election Abul Hasem Mondal got 89083 votes whereas 85905 votes were polled by CPM candidate. Biswajit Poddar, who entered the fray on behalf of BJP, was relegated to the third place with just 3,138 votes. Needless to say, the BJP nominee lost his deposit.

Before 2011, the CPM had been winning all the assembly elections to Memari since 1977.

One of twenty-five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Memari is formed by the areas covered by Memari municipality, Memari -1 block as well as Satgachhia 2 and Kuchut gram panchayats of Memari- 2 block.

Memari is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Bardhaman Purba Lok Sabha constituency.

A total number of 203430 electors were eligible to exercise their franchise in 2011 assembly election to Memari. Of them, while 105091 were males, female voters numbered at 98339.

No News Found