Mekliganj Assembly Elections 2016

A stronghold of Forward Block, Mekliganj has been sending Forward Block MLAS to the state legislative assembly on all occasions since 1962 except 1972. However after 2011, the Forward block is losing its support base among the workers in the tea estates. Trinamool Congress has also made rapid strides at the same time. The seat is all set to witness contest among Forward Block and TMC and Congress.

Mekliganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arghya Roy Pradhan (Bilu) AITC Won
Paresh Chandra Adhikary AIFB 68186
Dadhiram Ray BJP 23355
Jyotish Roy BSP 5650
Nota Nota 2333
Pramila Roy SUCI(C) 2090
Ratan Barman AMB 1809
Golapi Roy IND 955
Binod Roy KPP(U) 914
Dipen Roy IND 914

Mekliganj is currently represented I the West Bengal legislative assembly by Paresh Chandra Adhikary who won the seat third time in a row in 2011 on the ticket of Forward Block, one of the constituents of the CPM led Left Front. In that election while 72,040 votes were polled in favour Paresh Chandra Adhikary, his nearest rival was the Congress nominee Jayanta Kumar Ray who secured 39,408 votes and was followed by Sunil Chandra Roy with 23,540 votes. Sunil Chandra Roy, who had contested the seat in 2006 as a candidate, entered the fray as a rebel because the seat was given to the Congress under the alliance with TMC.

One of nine assembly constituencies located in the Cooch Behar district of West Bengal, Mekliganj contains in its jurisdiction the blocks of Mekliganj and Haldibari as well as the municipalities of Mekliganj and Haldibari.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Mekliganj is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha constituency. The remaining six segments are located in the Jalpaiguri district.

Mekliganj has an electorate of 1, 94,943. Out of the total electors, 1, 01,556 are male voters. The rest of the electors were women who numbered at 93,387.

No News Found