Maniktala Assembly Elections 2016

In 2015 the TMC had won all the eight wards of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) that constitute the Maniktala assembly seat. With its alliance with the Congress the CPM has become a strong force. It would be a keenly contested election in Maniktala. BJP is also a force to reckon with and will cut into the votes of both TMC and CPM.

Maniktala Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sadhan Pande AITC Won
Rajib Majumder CPM 47846
Sunil Roy BJP 18149
Nota Nota 3141
Tarun Banerjee IND 920
Sunil Roy IND 515
Anup Kumar Dey IND 432
Saikat Majumder IND 427

Maniktala assembly constituency is currently represented by TMC’s Sadhan Pandey who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival and sitting MLA Rupa Bagchi by a sizable margin of 36550 votes. In that election, while 89039 votes were polled by Sadhan Pandey, Rupa Bagchi received 52489 votes and was followed by BJP’s Nandalal Singhania who secured 3,663 votes.

Earlier Rupa Bagchi was elected from the Maniktala assembly seat in 2006. She unsuccessfully contested the Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha seat in 2014 general parliamentary elections. She also lost from Ward: 32 in the 2015 election to Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

Maniktala assembly constituency in Kolkata is formed the areas covered by Ward Numbers 11-16, 31 and 32 of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

The urban constituency of Maniktala is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Uttar. Kashipur-Belgachhia, Chowranghee, Entally, Beleghata, Jorasanko and Shyampukur are the other six assembly constituencies within Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha seat.

In the last assembly election to Maniktala, there was a total electorate of 203191. Out of the total electors, 109170 were males and 94021 were females.

No News Found