Manikchak Assembly Elections 2016

Sabitri Mitra, the current minister in the Mamata Government, had won the only seat for her party in Malda. However, if TMC plans to go to the upcoming polls without an alliance with the Congress, the party may find it difficult to retain the seat.

This is due to the fact that the Congress has a major presence in the Malda district thanks to the legacy of former Union railway minister A B A Gani Khan Chaudhury. The BJP has emerged as a competitive force which can be gauged from the fact the party was the runner up in the 2014 Lok Sabha election to Maldaha Dakshin Lok Sabha relegating CPM and TMC to the third and fourth places.

Manikchak Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Md. Mottakin Alam INC Won
Sabitri Mitra AITC 65869
Sibendu Sekhar Roy BJP 20549
Chanchala Karmakar BSP 2244
Md. Amal Khan RPI(A) 2170
Nota Nota 1903
Ashok Rabidas IND 1344

Manikchak is currently held by Trinamool Congress whose candidate Sabitri Mitra won it in 2011 by defeating her nearest rival Ratna Bhattacharya of the CPIM by 6217 votes. Earlier the seat was won in 2001 and 2006 by CPIM’s Asima Chowdhuri.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district of West Bengal, Manikchak is composed of Manikchak block, and Fulbaria, Milki and Sovanagar gram panchayats of English Bazar block.

Minority dominated Manikchak is one of the seven assembly segments that comprise the Maldaha Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency currently held by Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury of the Congress. Of a total number of 174680 electorate eligible to cast their votes in the last assembly election to this assembly seat in North Bengal in 2011, there were 92779 males and 81901 females. Manikchak is prone to frequent floods due the erosion of the Ganga river which enters West Bengal first time here. This has been always a major issue in the elections to the seat.

No News Found