Mangalkot Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2014 Parliamentary election the BJP candidate had led from Mangalkot assembly segment due to Modi wave whereas its share in 2011 assembly polls was only 4.11 percent. Now when the Modi wave has subsided, it remains to be seen, how Trinamool Congress and CPM field their candidates to face the challenge of the BJP’s surge. Mangalkot has been a bastion of the CPM which retained the seat in 2011 despite the wave of change in favor of TMC. In short it can be said that all the three major parties are equally poised to claim Mangalkot.

Mangalkot Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chowdhury Siddiqullah AITC Won
Choudhury Sahajahan CPM 77938
Gopal Chattopadhyay BJP 20780
Ramkrishna Malik BSP 3315
Nota Nota 2210
Rasik Saren SUCI(C) 1731

Mangalkot assembly seat is currently held by Sajahan Choudhury who won the seat for CPM in 2011 by defeating TMC nominee Apurba Chaudhuri by a razor thin margin of 126 votes. While 81316 votes were received by Sajahan Choudhury, the TMC member got 81190 votes and was followed by BJP’s Alok Taranga Goswami who received just 7,224 votes.

Barring 1972, all the assembly elections to Mangalkot since 1969 have been won by CPM. Sadhana Mallik represented the seat from 1996 to 2011.

Mangalkote block is covered by the Mangalkot assembly constituency which also contains the gram panchayats of Alampur, Gidhgram and Saragram gram panchayats under Katwa block.

One of the twenty five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Mangalkot is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bolpur parliamentary constituency. Labhpur, Ketugram, Ausgram, Bolpur, Nanoor and Mayureswar are the other six assembly constituencies.

Of a total number of 202627 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Mangalkot, there were 105435 males and 97192 females.

No News Found