Kurseong Assembly Elections 2016

Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM), which is demanding a separate state of Gorkhaland in West Bengal, is a major force in Kurseong assembly constituency. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP candidate S S Ahluwalia backed by GJM, had led from the Kurseong assembly constituency.

Kurseong Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ROHIT SHARMA Gorkha Janmukti Morcha Won
None of the Above None of the Above 7426

Kurseong is presently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by GJM MLA Rohit Sharmai who emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating Pemu Chhetri of Gorkha National Libertaipn Front (GNLF) by a huge margin of 93096 votes. In that election, while Harka Bahadur Chettri polled 74.00 per cent of the votes to get 114297 votes, the GNLF nominee received only 21201 votes. GJM has won three seats in West Bengal in 2011. Rohit Sharmai has resigned from assembly.

Earlier Shanta Chhetri of GNLF had been elected from the seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Located in the hills of Darjeeling district, Kurseong assembly constituency is composed of Kurseong municipality, Kurseong block, Mirik municipality, Mirik block, Gorabari Margaretís Hope, Lower Sonada I, Lower Sonada II, Munda Kothi and Upper Sonada gram panchayats of Jorebunglow Sukhiapokhri block, Rangli Rangliot block, and village panchayarts of Matigara block.

In the last assembly election to this seat in 2011, there were 197531 electors out of whom 99163 were males and 98368 were female voters. Kurseong is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Darjeeling Lok Sabha constituency, one of two parliamentary seats won by BJP in West Bengal in 2014.

No News Found