Kamarhati Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress has been hit by the charges of corruption against former state transport minister and sitting TMC Kamarhati MLA Madan Mitra who is in jail for his alleged role in the infamous Saradha scam. Internal factionalism rules the roost in the party in this assembly constituency. Though the CPM had been holding sway in the constituency since 1977 and lost only in 2011, the party is consistently losing ground since its crushing defeat in 2011. This enhances the chances of TMC which has also won in 2015 Kamarhati municipality, a part of the constituency.

Kamarhati Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manash Mukherjee CPM Won
Madan Mitra AITC 57996
Krishanu Mitra BJP 10797
None of the Above None of the Above 2623
Rekha Devi BSP 847
Rajarshi Goswami AAP 215

Kamarhati is currently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by Madan Mitra who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of TMC by defeating his nearest CPIM rival ad sitting MLA Manas Mukherjee by a handsome margin of 24354 votes. In that election 74112 votes were polled in favour of Madan Mitra, Manas Mukherjee secured 49758 votes and was followed by Shikha Sarkar of the BJP with just 1,699 votes.

Before 2011, the CPM had been winning the Kamarhati assembly seat since 1977. Manas Mukherjee represented from 2001 to 2011.

Teeming with industrial units, Kamarhati is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Dum Dum constituency.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Kamarhati assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1 to 16 and 21 to 35 of Kamarhati municipality.

In the last assembly election to Kamarhati in 2011, there were a total of 161809 electors, out of whom 86209 were males and 75600 were female voters.

No News Found