Kalyani Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2015 bye poll to the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat, the Trinamool Congress candidate Mamatabala had received 76262 votes from Kalyani assembly seat- a fall of 20103 votes from the voters secured in the constituency by the party in 2014 LS polls. While at the same time the BJP, which had received 28389 votes in 2014 in the constituency, increased its votes to 45 662. The CPM candidate Debesh Das got 46 431 votes. This shows that TMC, though it lost 20103 votes, is well ahead of its rivals in the Kalyani constituency.

Kalyani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dr. Ramendra Nath Biswas AITC Won
Alakesh Das CPM 69700
Dr. Ranajit Kumar Biswas BJP 15710
None of the Above None of the Above 2851
Tushar Kanti Biswas BSP 2319

Ramendranath Biswas is the sitting TMC MLA of Kalyani which was won by him in the only election to the seat held in 2011. In that election, he had defeated Jyotsna Sikdar of the CPM by a comfortable margin of 15690 votes. The BJP candidate Dipali Bharati polled just 4478 votes to finish a distant third and lose her deposit.

One of the seventeen assembly constituencies in the Nadia district of West Bengal Kalyani came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission.

One of the seven assembly segments in the Bangaon parliamentary constituency, Kalyani covers municipalities of Gayespur and Kalyani as well as Kanchrapara, Madanpur I, Madanpur II, Simurali, Sarati and Chanduria II of Chakdaha block. All the seven assembly constituencies of Bangoan parliamentary seat are reserved for the contestants belonging to the scheduled castes.

In 2011 assembly election, the semi-urban constituency of Kalyani had an electorate of 198769, out of which 104204 were males and 94565 were female voters.

No News Found