Kalimpong Assembly Elections 2016

Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM), which spearheads the cause of a separate state of Gorkhaland in West Bengal, is a dominating force in Kalimpong assembly constituency. Trinamool Congress is also striving hard to make its presence felt. The party which will receive the support of the GJM will be winning the seat. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP candidate S S Ahluwalia, backed by GJM, had led from the Kalimpong assembly constituency.

Kalimpong Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sarita Rai GJM Won
Harka Bahadur Chettri IND 56262
Kishore Pradhan IND 5714
None of the Above None of the Above 3364
Amar Loksom GRC 3201
Bhrigu Nath Gupta IND 1751

Kalimpong is presently represented in the legislative assembly by GJM MLA Harka Bahadur Chettri who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Bim Subbal of Gorkha National Liberation Front (GNLF) by a huge margin of 101675 votes. In that election, while Harka Bahadur Chettri polled 87.36 per cent of the votes to get 109102 votes, the GNLF nominee received only 7427 votes. GJM has won three assembly seats in West Bengal in 2011. Chettri has resigned from GJP and is npw and independent MLA.

Earlier Gaulan Lepcha of GNLF had been elected from the seat in 1996, 2006 and 2001.

Located in the hills of Darjeeling district, Kalimpong assembly constituency is composed of Kalimpong municipality and the blocks of Kalimpong -1, Kalimpong-2 and Gorubathan block.

In the last assembly election to this seat in 2011, there were 166388 electors out of whom 85122 were males and 81266 were female voters.

Lepcha dominated Kalimpong is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Darjeeling Lok Sabha constituency, one of two seats won by BJP in West Bengal in 2014.

No News Found