Jorasanko Assembly Elections 2016

Jorasanko assembly constituency had given lead to the BJP Lok Sabha candidate from Kolkata Uttar Rahul Sinha a sizable lead of 16,482 votes over his nearest rival in the 2014 Parliamentary elections. However, the Modi wave that was responsible for this surge has subsided. It will be an uphill task for the party to wrest the seat from the Trinamool Congress. The party did not do well in the 2015 elections to those wards of Kolkata Municipal Corporation that form the Jorasanko constituency.

Jorasanko Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Smita Bakshi AITC Won
Rahul(Biswajit)Sinha BJP 38476
Avinash Kumar Agarwal RJD 15639
None of the Above None of the Above 2374
Uttam Mali BSP 816
Bijnan Kumar Bera SUCI(C) 641
Uttam Acharya IND 618
Sunil Roy IND 306
Manoj Kumar Jaiswal JD(S) 300
Biswabasu Mukharjee IND 296
Shyamal Samaddar IND 218
Sanjeev Kumar Jain IND 180

Smita Bakshi is the sitting TMC MLA of Jorasanko assembly seat which she won by defeating her nearest CPM rival Janki Singh by a good margin of 31509 votes in 2011. In that election, while Smita Bakshi polled 57970 votes, the CPM nominee received 26461 votes and was followed by BJP’s Meena Devi Purohit who got 17,161 votes.

TMC’s Dinesh Bajaj Satya Narayan Bajaj has won the seat in 2006 and 2001 respectively. The CPM has never won the Jorasanko seat.

Located in Kolkata, Jorasanko assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Nos. 22, 23, 25, 27, 37- 43 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

The urban assembly constituency of Jorasanko is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Uttar. Before 2009, the constituency was within the erstwhile Calcutta North West Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Jorasanko assembly constituency has a total electorate of 2, 03,439 voters out of which 1, 26,157 are male voters and 77,282 are females.

No News Found