Jhargram Assembly Elections 2016

Not much has changed in Jhargram since 2011. CPM is still on a sticky wicket. Though Trinamool Congress managed to win the Jhargram seat in 2011 riding on the strong anti-left sentiments raging in the Maoist affected constituency, the party is not in a comfortable position due to the lack of development in the area. However, what favours the TMC is the complete disarray of the opposition parties.

Jhargram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sukumar Hansda AITC Won
Chunibala Hansda JHARKHAND PARTY (Naren) 44005
Ajoy Kumar Sen BJP 18843
Subrata Bhattacharya INC 7017
None of the Above None of the Above 4578
Mahadeb Pratihar SUCI(C) 2343
Bablu Murmu IND 1754
Gunadhar Mahato AJSU Party 1599
Ashoke Mahata New Democratic Party of India 1165

Jhargram assembly seat is currently held by TMC’s Sukumar Hansda who wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its sitting MLA Amar Basu by a margin of 15273 votes in 2011 in a bipolar contest. In that election Sukumar Hansda polled 75656 votes, Amar Basu secured 54191 votes and was followed by Chhatradhar Mahata who received 20,037 votes. Chhatradhar Mahato, convener of the CPI (Maoist)-backed Police Santrash Birodhi Janasadharaner Committee (PSBJC), was convicted for sedition.

Bijay Mahato, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was relegated to the fourth place with just 6,376 votes.

Earlier Amar Basu had been elected from the Jhargram assembly constituency in 2006. As is the case with most assembly seats in West Bengal, Jhargram had been electing CPM candidates since 1977 barring 2011.

Located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Jhargram assembly constituency is formed by areas covered by Jhargram municipality, Manikpara, Bandhgora, Sapdhara and Radhanagar gram panchayats of Jhargram block and Binpur-1 block.

Jhargram is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

184398 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Jhargram. Of them, 94246 were male voters and 90152 were women.

No News Found