Jalpaiguri Assembly Elections 2016

Though Jalpaiguri assembly seat is currently held by the Congress, Trinamool has made substantial inroads in the constituency. BJP, which has garnered only 3.44 percent votes in the last assembly election in 2011, has also established its presence in the last one year. The coming 2016 assembly election to Jalpaiguri will witness a multi-cornered fight among the mainstream parties including TMC, Left Front, BJP and Congress.

Jalpaiguri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sukhbilas Barma INC Won
Dharttimohan Roy AITC 89396
Ganesh Mandal BSP 40107
Tapan Roy BJP 16029
None of the Above None of the Above 3383
Haribhakta Sardar SUCI(C) 2586

Jalpaiguri is currently held by sitting Congress MLA Sukh Bilas Barma who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Gobinda Chandra Roy of Forward Block by a comfortable margin of 11051 votes. Gobinda Chandra Roy had earlier won the seat in 2001 when he trounced the sitting Congress MLA Anupam Sen who entered the fray on behalf of TMC. Congress senior leader Debaprasad Roy emerged victorious from the seat in 2006.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes, Jalpaiguri assembly constituency is located in the district of the same name in West Bengal. The constituency is composed of Jalpaiguri civic area and Bahadur, Arabinda, Boalmari Nandanpur, Kharia, Garalbari, Kharija Berubari I, Kharija Berubari II, Nagar Berubari, Mondalghat and South Berubari gram panchayats of Jalpaiguri block.

Sharing its border with Bangladesh, Jalpaiguri is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha seat of same name.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission in 2014, the Jalpaiguri assembly constituency has a total of 224441 electors, out of whom 117659 are male voters and 1,06,782 are women.

No News Found