Jagatballavpur Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the CPM prior to 2011, Jagatballavpur has now turned into a turf of the Trinamool Congress. The coming 2016 assembly election to Jagatballavpur will be a direct fight between TMC and CPM. The BJP is also a force to reckon with in some pockets of the constituency. The party which will be able to get the support of the Minority will have the clear advantage.

Jagatballavpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Md. Abdul Ghani AITC Won
Baidyanath Basu CPM 78667
Kaushik Mukherjee BJP 20065
None of the Above None of the Above 2345
Dudh Kamal Das IND 1810
Netai Malik IND 1720
Md. Rafique Warsi WPI 1524
Ekramul Islam Molla IUL 1506
Tapati Dalui IND 797
Gour Sardar IND 430

Jagatballavpur is currently held by Abul Kasem Mollah who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of Trinamool Congress by defeating Kaji Jaffar Ahmed of CPM by a handsome margin of 27780 votes. In that election, while 102580 votes were polled by Abul Kasem Mollah, the CPM nominee received 74800 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Baij Nath Sha who got 5,561 votes.

Earlier Jagatballavpur had elected M.Ansaruddin five times in a row from 1977. In 2006 the seat had elected CPM Biplab Majumdar who emerged victorious by defeating the then sitting TMC MLA Biman Chakraborty.

One of assembly segments in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Jagatballavpur is formed by the areas covered by Baragachhia-1, Baragachhia-2, Jagatballavpur-1, Jagatballavpur-2, Hantal Anantabati, Shankarhati-1, Pantihal, Shankarhati-2, Maju and Shialdanga gram panchayats of Jagatballavpur block and Domjur, Begari, Dakshin Jhapardaha, Rudrapur, Parbatipur, Makardah-1 and Uttar Jhapardaha gram panchayats of Domjur lock.

Jagatballavpur is now one of the seven assembly segments in Sreerampur Lok Sabha constituency

In the last assembly election to Jagatballavpur in 2011, 225661 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 118777 were males and 106884 were female voters.

No News Found