Jadavpur Assembly Elections 2016

Though TMC candidate Manish Gupta had humbled former Chief Minister and CPM candidate Buddhadeb Bhattacharya in 2011 in Jadavpur, in 2014 Lok Sabha polls the CPM nominee had led from the seat by 3006 votes from this assembly segment. This shows that CPM had covered a lot of ground since then. The coming assembly election to Jadavpur will witness a keen contest between the CPM and TMC. Before 2011, it was a safe seat for the CPM which had been winning all the elections since 1967.

Jadavpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sujan Chakraborty CPM Won
Manish Gupta AITC 84035
Dr. Mohit Kumar Ray BJP 13922
None of the Above None of the Above 4093
Subhas Chandra Naskar BSP 803
Shyamal Guha Majumdar SUCI(C) 612
Rahul Bose IND 524
Pintu Karmakar IND 433
Sankar Prasad Das IND 367
Gautam Patranabish IND 251

Manish Gupta, a minister in the Mamata Government, is the sitting TMC legislator of Jadavpur. In 2011, he had defeated Buddhadeb Bhattachrya by a margin of 16684 votes. While 103972 votes were polled by Manish Gupta, who was a former Chief Secretary of West Bengal, Buddhadeb Bhattacharya received 87288 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Dhononjoy Mukherjee who secured just 2,749 votes.

Earlier Buddhadeb Bhattacharya had won the Jadavpur seat five times in a row from 1987.

Located in the South – 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Jadavpur is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 96, 99, 101-106, 109 and 110 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).Jadavpur is one of the seven assembly segments within the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Jadavpur, there was a total electorate of 253932. Of them, 125260 were males and 128672 were female voters. It is one of the few assembly seats where female voters outnumbered the male ones.

No News Found