Howrah Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

Though BJP had secured 16,494 votes in the Howrah Uttar assembly constituency in the last general assembly polls in 2011, the party made handsome gains in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by managing 45,446 votes in the assembly segment. It was ahead of Trinamool Congress in four of the Howrah Municipal Corporation’s 14 Wards that constitute the Howrah Uttar assembly seat. Multi-cornered contest is on cards in Howrah Uttar where TMC still enjoys an edge.

Howrah Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Laxmi Ratan Shukla AITC Won
Santosh Kumar Pathak INC 34958
Roopa Ganguly BJP 31416
Subodh Pathak IND 1146
None of the Above None of the Above 1070
Shewnarayan Chandel BSP 988
Bina Ganguli Mukherjee IND 716
Ravi Shankar Yadav IND 447
Dadan Singh IND 333
Sudarshan Manna STPI 245
Arvind Kumar Dubey IND 229
Tapan Bose IND 183
Anu Das IND 182
Jayant Gupta IND 182
Ashish Agarwal IND 161

Currently represented by the Trinamool Congress legislator Asok Ghosh, Howrah Uttar was won by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival and CITU leader Nimai Samanta by a comfortable margin of 19608 votes. While 61466 votes were polled in favour of Asok Ghosh, the CPIM candidate received 41858 votes and was followed by BJP’s Umesh Rai who got 16,494 votes. Umesh Rai’s wife Geeta Rai had defeated CPM’s Howrah Mayor Mamata Jaiswal in 2013 elections to Howrah Municipal Corporation.

Earlier CPM’s Lagan Deo Singh had represented Howrah Uttar from 1991 to 2011. He was denied ticket in 2011 because of the charges of corruption leveled against him.

Located in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Howrah Uttar is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1- 7 and 10- 16 of Howrah municipal corporation (HMC).

Migrant labourers constitute 60% of the voters in the Howrah North assembly constituency which is dotted with several industrial units.

Howrah Uttar is one of the seven assembly segments within the Howrah Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Howrah Uttar, a total electorate of 172171 was eligible to exercise their franchise. Of them, 99173were males and 72998 were female voters.

No News Found