Howrah Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

BJP has emerged as a competitive force in Howrah South assembly seat. The party’s candidate from Howrah Lok Sabha, Goerge Baker, had polled 34,168 votes in this constituency in 2014. It was a sharp rise from just 4,256 votes the party received in 2011. However, the rise of BJP may result in the advantage for the Trinamool Congress because in all likelihood the former will cut into the votes of the CPM which was a dominant factor before 2011.

Howrah Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Brajamohan Majumder AITC Won
Arindam Basu (Babu) CPM 77495
Sahana Guha Ray BJP 16277
None of the Above None of the Above 3816
Srinath Yadav BSP 1249
Joydeb Santra IND 1039
Tapas Das SUCI(C) 757
Suktara Khan IUL 496
Kashinath Malick IND 442
Subhrajit (Liton) Bhaduri PDS 441
Asok Krishna Das IND 337

Howrah South is currently held by TMC legislator Broja Mohan Majumdar who was elected from the seat in 2011 by defeating CPM sitting Krishna Kishor Roy by a margin of 31422 votes. While 101066 votes were polled by Broja Mohan Majumdar, Krishna Kishor Roy received 69644 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Pramila Singh who secured just 4,256 votes.

Earlier Krishna Kishor Roy had won the Howrah South seat in 2006.

One of the sixteen assembly constituency located in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Howrah Dakshin is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 35, 38 to 41 and 44-46 of Howrah municipal corporation (HMC), and Jorhat, Duila, Thanamakua and Panchpara gram panchayats of Sankrail block.

The semi-urban constituency of Howrah Dakshin is one of the seven assembly segments within the Howrah Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Howrah South, a total electorate of 234521 was eligible to exercise their franchise. Of them, 124540 were males and 109981 were female voters.

No News Found