Haroa Assembly Elections 2016

A citadel of the CPM till 2011, Haroa went in favour of the Trinamool Congress in that year. Both the parties are equally poised to claim the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections. BJP and Congress are insignificant players. Fear unleashed by the TMC in the area may deter CPM supporters from voting and this may be beneficial for the former.

Haroa Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Islam Sk.Nurul (Haji) AITC Won
Imtiaz Hossain CPM 70594
Manmatha Bachar BJP 11078
Md.Nazrul Islam BSP 3208
None of the Above None of the Above 2741

Currently Haroa is held by TMC MLA Julfiquer Ali Molla Who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Imtiaz Hossain by just 1124 votes. In that election, while Julfiquer Ali Molla polled 76,627 votes, the CPM nominee secured 75,503 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Subodh Kumar Chakraborty who got 7,409 votes.

Earlier CPM’s Kshiti Ranjan Mondalhad had represented the Haroa seat from 1977 to 2006. The seat was won by Ashim Kumar Das of CPM in 2006.

Situated in the North 24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Haroa is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Basirhat.

Haroa, which was reserved for the candidates beloing to the scheduled castes before 2011, is formed by the areas covered by Falti Dadpur, Beleghata, Kiritipur I, Shashan and Kiritipur II gram panchayats of Barasat- 2 block as well as Deganga I, Champatala, Hadipur Jhikra II and Deganga II gram panchayats of Deganga block. Apart from these, Gopalpur II, Gopalpur I, Khasbalanda and Haroa gram panchayats of Haroa block are also within Haroa assembly constituency.

In the last assembly election to the Haroa seat, 186630 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 100632 were males and 85998 were female voters.

No News Found