Harirampur Assembly Elections 2016

Factionalism in Trinamool Congress has the potential of damaging the prospects of the party in the Harirampur assembly constituency. TMC failed to do well in 2014 parliamentary and panchayat Banshihari block which is a part of Harirampur constituency. However, disenchantment with the Left Front is a major cause of concern for the CPM which is yet to regain the confidence of the people which it lost in 2011.

Harirampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rafikul Islam CPM 71063
Biplab Mitra AITC 66668
Phani Bhusan Mahata BJP 19802
Tarun Sarkar KPP(U) 2020
Bibhuti Tudu JDP 1904
Anarul Haque Ansari JMM 1673
None of the Above None of the Above 1648
Durga Hembram BSP 1336

Currently represented by Biplab Mitra of TMC, Harirampur had elected hiom in 2011. In the only election to the assembly constituency, while 65099 votes were polled in favour oif Biplab Mitra, his nearest rival was CPM’s Narayan Biswas, who is a former minister in the left front government. Narayan Biswas received 58032 votes and was followed by BJP’s Phani Bhusan Mahato who got 7,039 votes. .

Apart from the victor and the runner-up, all the contestants lost their deposits.

Harirampur is one of the six assembly constituencies located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district of west Bengal. This rural constituency is formed by areas covered by blocks of Harirampur and Bansihari.

Harirampur, which came into being before 2011 assembly elections, is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Balurghat parliamentary constituency. Itahar, Kushmandi, Kumarganj, Balurghat, Tapan and Gangarampur are the other six assembly constituencies which are part of the Balurghat Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Harirampur, there was a total electorate of 162532. Out of the total electors, 85401were males and 77131 were females.

No News Found