Hariharpara Assembly Elections 2016

So far as the upcoming 2016 assembly election to Hariharpara seat is concerned, it all depends on how the new equations take shape. Congress would like to contest the seat if there is an alliance with the TMC. However, if there is a division of votes between TMC and Congress, it will stand the CPIM in good stead. Despite a handsome rise in the percent of votes gained by the BJP in 2014 parliamentary elections in the state, the BJP is not competitive force in Hariharpara.

Hariharpara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Niamot Sheikh AITC Won
Alamgir Mir (Palash) INC 66499
Insar Ali Biswas CPM 39057
Tulsi Prasad Sukul BJP 5394
Golam Mostafa SUCI(C) 2804
Asgar Ali Seikh IUML 1382
None of the Above None of the Above 1159
Md Murtaj Ali MPI 720
Nurul Amin Sk IND 520
Aalamgir Ali Mondal IND 254

Insar Ali Biswas is the sitting CPIM MLA of Hariharpara which he retained by defeating Trinamool Congress candidate Sk. Niyamat by 6358 votes in 2011. While 58293 votes were received by Insar Ali Biswas, the TMC candidate received 51935 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Alamgir Mir who got significant 44,982 votes.

Alamgir Mir was backed by Murshidabad strongman and Baharampur Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury despite the fact that Congress was in alliance with the TMC in 2011.

Hariharpara assembly constituency has been represented by the CPIM since 1977.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Murshidabad Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Hariharpara includes in its territorial domain the area of Hariharpara block and Chhaighari and Madanpur gram panchayats of Berhampore block.

Hariharpara, one of the twenty two assembly segments located in the Murshidabad district, had an electorate of 181557 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 94302 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females who numbered at 87255.

No News Found