Hansan Assembly Elections 2016

Since the sitting Congress MLA Asit Kumar Mal is now with TMC, the latter enjoys the edge in the Hansan constituency. The switch has dealt a severe blow to the Congress which has been wining the seat since 1996. The main opposition party in the Hansan assembly constituency is Revolutionary Communist Party of India (RCPI), a constituent of the Left Front in West Bengal. All the four mainstream parties including BJP are equally poised to emerge victorious.

Hansan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Miltan Rasid INC Won
Asit Kumar Mal AITC 76465
Ruparani Mondal BJP 7662
None of the Above None of the Above 2400
Prabir Mukhopadhyay BSP 1584
Bikash Let WPI 1119
Ali Tanser SP 1047
Manik Mal CPI(ML)(L) 1041
Amal Mondal SUCI(C) 785
Kamal Hasan RCPI(R) 751

Five time MLA Asit Mal won Hansan fourth time in a row in 2011 by defeating Kamal Hasan of RCPI by a handsome margin of 26452 votes. This was despite the presence of rebel Congress leader in the fray in the form of Sheikh Aftabuddin who received significant 27,461 votes and came third. On the other hand, Asit Mal and RCPI nominee got 73,370 and 46,918 votes. Ruparani Mondal of BJP was relegated to the fourth place with just 3,373 votes.

Earlier, Asit Mal was elected from Hansan assembly seat in 1987, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Hansan is one of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Rampurhat-2 and Nalhati-2

Hansan is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Birbhum parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Hansan, there was a total electorate of 181254. Out of the total electors, 94814 were males and 86440 were females.

No News Found