Haldia Assembly Elections 2016

The Trinamool Congress is plagued by factionalism. The rivalry between sitting TMC MLA Shiuli Saha and Subhendu Adhikary, the TMC MP from Tamluk under which Haldia assembly seat falls, is well-known. Shiuli Saha has been suspended from the party. The CPM has also become weak due to expulsion of its former Haldia MP and strongman Lakshman Seth, who is known for his alleged involvement in the Nandigram violence which led to the ouster of the Left from power after its 34 years of rule in West Bengal.

Haldia Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Tapasi Mondal CPM Won
Madhurima Mandal AITC 79837
Pradip Kumar Bijali BJP 13471
Abhimanyu Mondal BNP 2996
None of the Above None of the Above 2383
Utpal Dalui PDS 1005
Narayan Pramanik SUCI(C) 959

Haldia is currently represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by its sitting MLA Shiuli Saha who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating CPM’s Nityananda Bera by a comfortable margin of 11924 votes. In that election Shiuli Saha, who is close to disgruntled TMC leader Mukul Roy, polled 89573 votes, the CPM’s nominee secured 77649 votes and was followed by BJP’s Kalipada Das who managed to get only 4,640 votes.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Haldia is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal. The constituency is formed by areas covered by Haldia municipality and Sutahata block.

Haldia, which came into being before 2011 assembly elections in place of Sutahata assembly constituency, is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Tamluk parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Haldia, there was a total electorate of 188653. Out of the total electors, 99554 were males and 89099 were females

No News Found