Goghat Assembly Elections 2016

Goghat is a bastion of the Forward Block, one of the constituents of the Left Front in west Bengal. Despite the Trinamool wave in the last assembly polls, Goghat went in favour of the Left Front which resisted the winds of change. This was in spite of the fact that the Left Front experienced a minus swing of 20.72 percent in its vote share from what it got in 2006. AS TMC has lost some of its sheen during the period and there are talks of resurgent Left, the latter seems to be in a slightly advantageous position.

Goghat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manas Majumdar AITC Won
Biswanath Karak AIFB 72072
Basan Ray BJP 19009
None of the Above None of the Above 4423

Biswanath Karak is the sitting MLA from Goghat which he won on behalf of Forward Bloc in 2011 by defeating TMC candidate Debasish Medda of Congress by a reduced margin of 4265 votes. In the previous assembly elections in 2006, the party has won by 73201 votes.

The Forward Block has been winning Goghat seat since 1982. The party’s legislator Shiba Parsad Malick had emerged victorious from the seat five successive terms from 1982. The seat was won by the Janata Party in 1977.

Goghat is one of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Goghat-1 and Goghat- 2 blocks.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Goghat is one of the seven assembly segments in the Arambagh Lok Sabha constituency. In the 2011 assembly election to Goghat, the constituency had 193452 voters, out of whom 100695 were males and 92757 were females.

No News Found