Goalpokhar Assembly Elections 2016

Since the sitting Congress MLA Ghulam Rabbani is now with TMC, the latter enjoys the edge in the constituency. Once close to the Congress leader and wife of former Union minister P R Dasmunshi, Deepa Dasmushi, Ghulam Rabbani fell out with her and joined the TMC.

Goalpokhar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Md Gulam Rabbani AITC Won
Afjal Hosen INC 57121
Debashis Sarkar BJP 16966
Julia Yeasmin SP 2893
Dulal Rajbanshi SUCI(C) 1827
Mansingha Hasda BSP 1805
None of the Above None of the Above 1557
Raghu Nath Singha IND 685

Ghulam Rabbani, who has joined Trinamool Congress after quitting the Congress, is the sitting MLA from Goalpokhar which he won as a Congress member in 2011 by defeating Forward Block nominee Saifur Rahman by 13413 votes.

Earlier Ali Imran Ramz, presently the Forward Block sitting MLA from Chakulia, won the Goalpokhar in 2009 when he was elected from the seat in a bye-election when the seat was vacated by then incumbent Congress MLA Deepa Dasmushi after her election to the Lok Sabha. Deepa Dasmushi, a bÍte noir of Mamata Banerjee, debuted in the West Bengal Assembly, after winning Goalpokhar in 2006.

Ali Imran Ramzís father Ramzan Ali had won the Goalpokhar four times on behalf of Forward Block. After Ramzan's death, his brother Hafiz Alam Sairani claimed the seat in 1996 and 2001 and later became a minister in the Left cabinet.

Located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Goalpokhar assembly constituency is composed of Goalpokhar-1 block.

One of the seven assembly segments within the Raiganj parliamentary constituency Goalpokhar had a total electorate of 170180. Out of these electors, while 87856 were male voters, 82324 were women.

Goalpokhar has a sizable Muslim population and barring 2006 all the elections to the assembly constituencies have elected Muslim MLAs.

No News Found