Garbeta Assembly Elections 2016

With a propensity to remain in the limelight for the clashes between rival political parties, Garbeta is a stronghold of the CPM which managed to win the seat despite the wave of change in 2011, albeit by highly reduced margin. With the coming to power, the Trinamool Congress has made significant inroads in the constituency. There will be bipolar fight between the candidates of CPM and TMC. BJP and Congress do not stand any chance.

Garbeta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ashis Chakraborty (Nanti) AITC Won
Sorforaj Khan CPM 49344
Pradip Lodha BJP 22525
None of the Above None of the Above 3367
Tapas Mishra SUCI(C) 1998

Garbeta assembly seat is currently held by the CPM’s Susanta Ghosh who won it by defeating TMC’s Hema Choubey by a comfortable margin of 15070 votes in 2011 in a bipolar contest. In that election Susanta Ghosh, who was a minister in the Buddhadev government, polled 86047 votes, the TMC nominee secured 70977 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Tarak Nath Gan who secured just 7,733 votes.

Susanta Ghosh, who was arrested for his alleged involvement in the Keshpur multiple-murder case, has also been elected from the erstwhile Garbeta East assembly constituency in 1987, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Garbeta is formed by the areas covered by Garhbeta- 1 block as well as Jogardanga, Amlasuli, Sarboth and Piyasala gram panchayats of Garhbeta – 2 block.

Garbeta is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Jhargram. Nayagram, Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Salboni, Binpur and Bandwan are the other six.

176796 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Garbeta. Of them 91880 were male voters and 84916 were women.

No News Found