Galsi Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the Forward Block, one of the constituents of the Left Front, Galsi assembly constituency had given a lead to the BJP candidate Babul Supriyo over his nearest Trinamul Congress rival Dola Sen In the last parliamentary general elections held in 2014. However in the subsequent civic election to the Galsi municipality, the BJP managed to win only two of the 28 wards. Trinamul Congress was the winner of the Galsi municipality which is a part of the Galsi assembly constituency.

Galsi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Alok Kumar Majhi AITC Won
Nandalal Pondit AIFB 84432
Sundar Paswan BJP 21435
None of the Above None of the Above 3927

Galsi assembly constituency is currently represented by Ujjal Chatterjee of TMC. Ujjal Chatterjee, who also happens to be the Chairman of the Galsi Municipality, was a Forward Block member prior to joining the TMC. He had retained the seat by defeating Maniklal Acharya of Forward Block by a handsome margin of 27000 votes in the 2011 assembly election.

Maniklal Acharya, who was Ujjal Chatterjee’s nearest rival also in 2006, had won the seat three times consecutively (1991, 1996 and 2001. Galsi had sent a Congress member to the Legislative assembly last time in 1987 when its candidate Tuhin Samanta emerged victorious from this seat by trouncing the incumbent Forward Block legislator Madhu Benerjee who had been elected in 1977 and 1982.

Galsi, which has a large Hindi-speaking population, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency,

In 2011, Kuti assembly had a total of 187988 electorates out of which 105035 were males and 82953 were women. One of the 25 assembly seats in the Bardhamman district in West Bengal, Kuti shares its border with the Dhanbad district of Jharkhand.

No News Found