Gaighata Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2015 bye poll to the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat, the TMC candidate Mamatabala had established a lead of 25,652 votes over her nearest CPM rival and former IT Debesh Das from Gaighata assembly segment. BJP was also not far behind. Hence, in all possibility the coming assembly election to Gaighata will witness triangular contest between TMC, CPM, and BJP with TMC being in an advantageous position.

Gaighata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pulin Bihari Ray AITC Won
Kapil Krishna Thakur CPI 64240
Sankar Thakur BJP 28796
None of the Above None of the Above 1587
Anil Bairagi BSP 1502
Nandita Mondal IND 1388
Nanibala Biswas ( Das) SUCI(C) 917
Bikash Biswas IND 707

A former minister in the Mamata Banerjee, Majulkrishna Thakur is the setting MLA from Gaighata which had elected him in 2011 on the ticket of TMC. Majulkrishna Thakur, son of Matua 'Boroma' (great mother or Matua guru) Binapani Devi, is now with the BJP. Earlier Gaighata had elected TMC legislator Jyotipriya Mallick, a minister in the Mamata government, in 2001 and 2006. Jyotipriya Mallick, currently the sitting MLA from Habra, had to leave Gaighata in 2011 because the latter ceased to be an open seat.

One of the assembly segments located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Gaighata covers Dharmapur I, Dharmapur II, Ichapur I, Ichapur II, Jaleswar I, Shimulpur and Sutia gram panchayats of Gaighata block, Gobardanga municipality as well as Machhalandpur I, Bergum I and Bergum II gram panchayats of Habra I block.

Gaighata is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bangaon parliamentary constituency. Each of the seven segments is reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

In 2011 assembly election, Gaighata, where people belonging to the Matua community constitute nearly half of the electorate are in a majority, had an electorate of 203625, out of whom 106361 were male voters and 97264 were females.

No News Found