Falta Assembly Elections 2016

Though the TMC’s victory margin in 2011 assembly elections in Falta assembly constituency was 27671, the party led from this assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by less than 10000. This should worry the party. If the alliance between CPM and Congress becomes a reality, this will be pain point for the TMC. The party which will have the support of the minorities will do well in the coming election in 2016. The BJP has some areas of pockets.

Falta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Tamonash Ghosh AITC Won
Bidhan Parui CPM 70801
Amarendra Nath Mukherjee BJP 15763
None of the Above None of the Above 1813
Mamata Laskar SUCI(C) 1798
Atal Kumar Purkait BSP 1518
Jayashri Chakraborty LJP 1328
Haran Chandra Biswas PDS 781

Currently, Falta is held by TMC’s Tamonash Ghosh who wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its candidate Ardhendu Sekhar Bindu by a handsome margin of 27671 votes in a bipolar contest. While Tamonash Ghosh secured 86966 votes, 59295 votes were polled by the CPM nominee who was distantly followed by BJP’s Ajit Kumar Halder who managed to get only 5,389 votes.

Earlier, Tamonash Ghosh had also won the Falta assembly seat in 2001. He lost to Chandana Ghosh Dostidar of CPM in the subsequent election in 2006.

Located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal, Falta is formed by the areas covered by Falta block as well as Kalatalahat and Bhadura Haridas gram panchayats of Diamond Harbour – 2 block.

The semi-urban constituency of Falta is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Diamond Harbor parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Falta, the constituency had an electorate of 182605. Of them, 96478 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 86127.

No News Found