Falakata Assembly Elections 2016

Once a citadel of the Left, Falakata was wrested by Trnamool Congress (TMC) on the wave of Poriborton (change) that became the catchphrase in the last assembly elections. Since then, while the left has been losing ground in many parts of the state, the BJP has made considerable gains since the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Though the contest for the upcoming assembly poll to Falakata will be between the TMC and the Left, the BJP is also a competitive force here.

Falakata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Anil Adhikari AITC Won
Kshitish Chandra Ray CPM 69808
Narayan Chandra Mondal BJP 30639
None of the Above None of the Above 3812
Bishnupada Roy IND 3007
Paritosh Ch. Roy IND 2016
Tarani Roy SUCI(C) 1344
Naresh Chandra Barman IND 667

Currently held by Anil Adhikari, Falakata assembly seat had elected him in 2011 as a TMC MLA. While Anil Adhikari polled 77,821 votes, Rabindra Nath Barman of the CPIM was the runner-up and received 69,775 votes. Hemanta Kumar Ray of the BJP was placed at third with 9848 votes and forfeited his deposit. Earlier Jogesh Chandra Barman of the CPM had represented the seat for successive four times from 1991.

Situated in the newly created district of Alipurduar in West Bengal, Falakata assembly constituency covers Falakata block as well as Purba Kanthalbari gram panchayat of Alipurduar -1 block. Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Falakata is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Alipurduars Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission, out of the total electorate in the constituency, the male voters numbers at 1,12,186 whereas there are 1,03,828 women voters. The constituency has a strong presence of the Kamtapur Liberation Organisation, an insurgent group of north Bengal.

No News Found